Nominate an outstanding leader for a 2019 OWHE Award Today!

Oregon Women in Higher Education is excited to recognize women who have positively contributed to their campuses, communities, and beyond. We especially want to honor those individuals who envision an educational, social, and political climate in which diverse women benefit from the opportunities in higher education and shape the progression of their chosen field.  

We encourage you to nominate an outstanding woman leader from your institution for an OWHE award. Recipients will be recognized at the Oregon Women in Higher Education Conference at Salishan Resort on February 1 and 2, 2019. 

Nominations will be reviewed by an awards committee, and awards will be determined based on the nominees’ demonstrated commitment to embodying the Oregon Women in Higher Education mission: We facilitate meaningful connection, personal growth, professional advancement, and systemic change for all Oregon women in higher education.

Submission deadline is October 1, 2018.

OWHE Awards

She Flies with Her Own Wings Service Award (2018 WinnerDr. Kerry Levett)
This award honors a woman with a strong history of making contributions to women in higher education and a dedication to supporting and promoting the achievements of women in the field. Contributions may be in the areas of programming, scholarship and publication, mentoring, teaching, and visionary leadership. Nominees for this award must have worked in higher education for over 5 years.

Exemplary Emerging Professional Award (2018 Winner: Sarah Kutten)
Created in 2010, this award honors a woman based on her recognized potential to make a positive impact in higher education. This woman will have made impacting contributions in her work though programming, scholarship, publications, presentations, teaching, leadership, community service, and support of the educational environment on her campus. Nominees for this award must have worked in higher education for less than 5 years.

Our Future Award (2018 Winner: Kelsi Nagle)
This award honors an outstanding woman student leader (undergraduate or graduate). This woman will have gone above and beyond her peers in making an impact on her campus and/or to her field of study. Nominees for this award must be a current student or a recent graduate.

The Beth Rietveld Service to OWHE Award (2018 Winner: Heather Kropf)
This award recognizes a woman for her significant contributions and continued service to Oregon Women in Higher Education. Nominees for this award can be a volunteer, active member, and/or past or current board member who has demonstrated significant contributions to OWHE over a period of time. This award is not presented every year.

Connect with Leaders

Networking with women, non-binary, and trans leaders in the state of Oregon will enhance your professional experience. We look forward to creating opportunities to meet, connect and develop together.

Engage in Professional Development

Participate in opportunities for professional growth through educational programs that are provided by our campus contact network right on your campus, in your region or at a state wide gathering. The focus is on providing you with the leadership skills and mentoring necessary to lead.

Lead Change in Higher Education

Higher education in the state of Oregon provides a dynamic environment where women, non-binary, and trans people can impact change. Whether in the community college, 4-year institution, public, or private, we want you to be a part of shaping the future of higher education by empowering and affirming your leadership abilities.